Day 261

Have a I used a photo of this before?

I have taken photos in this area before, but I don’t recall if I’ve taken this shot and used it in a blog post. It’s just another example of growing older.

***

Once again, this morning, I heard a conservative pundit trying to quote JFK by saying that a high tide raises all boats, and then trying to conflate that with a tax cut. What the president said in 1963 was “As they say on my own Cape Cod, a rising tide lifts all the boats. And a partnership, by definition, serves both partners, without domination or unfair advantage.” He was speaking of a dam project and defending it from charges of pork barrel, not taxes. I don’t mind if conservatives quote President Kennedy, but I object when they infer he held the same point of view that they hold. What were they saying when he was president?

I thought about trying to make an observation about that quote, trickle-down economics, the tax cuts we’ve had for the past ten years, and the shrinking middle class, but  my argument was so convoluted that even I got lost in it. If you want to make your own case, feel free.

***

It’s time to close out today. I hope I’ll be posting again tomorrow, but that remains to be seen. Cindy wants me to switch from cable modem to wireless. That means I have to shut down everything, disconnect the modem, and take it to the cable company and trade it in for a different piece of equipment. That also means I have to hook everything up and hope that I can get it to operate properly. I think I have about a 65% chance of that happening. If it doesn’t happen, I’ll be spending a lot of time on the telephone with tech support. That seldom works out well.

Here’s hoping it works.