Day 200

Sitting in B&N, waiting for the thunderstorm to pass

I went back to B&N to download the sync software, but got caught up watching the lightning and rain through the windows. It poured down for a while, and then let up enough for me to walk to the car. I walk so that I won’t run into more raindrops. What! Don’t believe me? Check this: http://dsc.discovery.com/tv-shows/mythbusters/videos/running-in-the-rain-minimyth.htm I didn’t need the Mythbusters to validate my long-held belief. It was common sense to me.

***

There is an appraiser coming this afternoon, actually she has ben here and left, to appraise the house for a refinance on our mortgage. To pass the time I took a book into the living room and turned on some jazz. The cd was on I had burned after converting a vinyl LP to MP3s. The title of the album was Horizons du Jazz. It was a compilation album I bought when I was stationed in Germany. On the albums were three cuts by Louis Armstrong, three by Duke Ellington’s orchestra, and one each The Miles Davis Quartet and The Dave Brubeck Quartet. The Brubeck song was Perdido and as I listened to it again today I realized that Eugene Wright’s bass solo was the first I had really appreciated by a bass player. That song, more than any other on the album, and it is a fine album, to me back to our barracks in Heidelberg.

Then I started thinking about coming back to the states and shipping two footlockers ahead. One was full of books, posters, and comic books. The second was full of record albums, clothes, and other things I had picked up while in Germany. Sargeant Huggins, an E7 in our office was authorized to complete and sign customs forms. He didn’t bother to open the footlockers and check them, he took my word for what was in them. I guess I could have loaded them with contraband, but I didn’t, and it was a good thing because one of them was opened when it hit stateside. To be more specific, the padlock was cut off and the hasp torn loose.

The footlockers were sent out by me about a week before I left. I assumed they would ship together, but no, the Army had other ideas. One was flown out of Germany, but I think the other was sent by ship. The one that went by air arrived at our house less than a week after I got home. The second one, the one that had been broken into, got to the house two months later. I had almost forgotten about it.

It’s funny what memories one song can conjure up.