Tags

,

The road home #3

The road home #3

This picture is the third that I took on my way home to Lafayette after my mother was buried in Rolling Prairie. As you can tell, I do my best to avoid cities. Not that that there is much in the way of cities between the two places.

***

Well, I failed to meet the goals of my self-inflicted Reading Challenge again in 2016. I read only seventeen of the twenty types of books that I set in the challenge. Has that brought my spirits down? Yes, a bit. Is it deterring me from trying again this year? Not a whit! In fact in 2017 I’ll be shooting to read 21 different types of books. The twenty-one types are:

  1. A book by an author you have never read before.
  2. A biography or autobiography.
  3. A book recommended by a friend.
  4. A romance novel or a western.
  5. A mystery or thriller.
  6. A book on a historical subject.
  7. A book of science fiction or fantasy.
  8. A graphic novel.
  9. A book of short stories or essays.
  10. One of a series of books.
  11. A book previously started but never finished.
  12. A book that has been the basis of a movie or television series, or vice versa.
  13. A book written in each decade that I have been alive, so one in the 1940’s.
  14. A book written in the 1950’s.
  15. A book written in the 1960’s.
  16. A book written in the 1970’s.
  17. A book written in the 1980’s.
  18. A book written in the 1990’s.
  19. A book written in the 2000’s.
  20. A book written in the 2010’s.
  21. And a book of any kind.

The challenge begins on January 1. As in all of my challenges, you are invited to play along with me. I don’t take myself so seriously that I don’t see this as play. If I did, I would be weighed down with self-recrimination over past failures to achieve my goal.

If you want to play, you have a few days to start picking your books. I would be interested to know how you do. I already have my first three books in mind; and I’m eager to start. I’ll give updates on my progress as the year goes along.

Happy reading!

