Tags

,

Kathryn

Kathryn

I was lucky enough last week to have lunch with one of my favorite people, Kathryn. We don’t get to see each other nearly often enough, but I wanted to give her a birthday present from Cindy and me in person. As you can see in this picture, the present was a watercolor by one of our favorite artists, our granddaughter Macey. It was a great time, although we had to cut it short so that Kathryn could return to work. I’m already wanting to set a time to see her again.

***

Here’s an update on To beard or not to beard. Only two readers gave me feedback on whether I should grow a beard, and they were both positive. Outside of the Classical Gasbag readership I had three other positive comments and none that were negative. But here’s the thing, I don’t want to grow a full beard because keeping one trimmed can be very time consuming. But so is shaving to keep a smooth shining face. What’s a guy to do? I am compromising and plan to keep the grizzled look for the time being. It is actually easier and less time consuming to trim the grizzle a couple of times each week.

***

The Thumper Challenge. Remaining silent rather than say negative things is not as easy as it sounds. I was able to do it for approximately forty hours, with around twelve hours of the 40 in sleep mode. Then I lost control while watching a politician being interviewed on television. Since then it has been a struggle. I believe, however, that being aware of each infraction makes it easier to maintain in the long run. I started the challenge afresh this morning and have been able to maintain my silence.

I am wondering though if I am suppressing too much of what makes me the person who I am. Should I be allowed to say those nasty things aloud when only Cindy is with me? Or is it better for myself and the world at large if I curb my tongue? I honestly don’t know.

***

Finally, I was thinking late last night that maybe I would write a volume of short stories. My problem is that I tend to write the title first, and then try to create a suitable story to go with it. In fact, I started jotting down story titles without a clue as to what the story should be. Here is my list:

  1. Sage Advice from Barnacle Bill
  2. Mellisandre Visits Ancient Persia
  3. Beware the Hedgehog
  4. Calliope Green’s Magic Turtle
  5. While Crossing Illinois
  6. Lady Caroline’s Conundrum
  7. Whist for the Unwary
  8. A Popsicle for Petey
  9. Gertrude the Ravishing
  10. Simpering Sam’s Sophisticated Serenade

By the way, the volume of stories would be titled The Locust Tales. If any of you would like to use one or more of these titles, feel free. All I ask is that you send me a copy of the story so that I can see how your imagery. You can reach me at houseman@comcast.net

