Tags

,

Farmer's Market

Farmer’s Market

Here is a shot of the Farmer’s Market in Lafayette. They have it twice a week. I took this just as they were opening one Saturday. It was a bad time for me because they had hot food for sale and I was hungry. Unfortunately the most tempting food was of the type that diabetics shouldn’t be eating, so I took a pass on it.

***

I know that in the past I’ve mentioned that for me the journey is at least as important as the destination. Normally, when I think about that concept it is in conjunction with a concrete journey from one physical place to another. That’s one reason I love taking road trips. There is so much to see between here and there, and I want to see as much as possible.

Some people don’t understand why I prefer to drive to Las Vegas on our annual trip to visit family. Why spend a week driving out there when you can fly in just a few hours?  Well, suppose I decided that I wanted to stop at Boys Town, Nebraska to see the world’s largest ball of postage stamps? (note to Cindy, let’s add this to our stop-and-see list.) Do you think the pilot would make a detour to let me stop there? Would you, as another passenger on the plane, want to spend more time cramped on the airplane while I perused this philatelic novelty? I think not.

Journeys are individual, even when travelling with other people. Cindy and I can go to the Purdue campus together, see the same things, and yet have different experiences. For Cindy that campus is full of memories of younger days. For me, it is a somewhat sterile environment that makes me reflect on how much nicer the IU campus is.

Hmmm. I seem to have strayed from the physical journey to a mental journey. That should be a subject for another post in the future. I’ll start thinking about that.

