Tags

,

Wall art #14

Wall art #14

I went back to pictures I took last month for today’s picture. I didn’t want it to languish in photo limbo while I used more recent pictures. It didn’t seem fair,and I like wall art. Left click on the image if you want a better view.

***

I have been having trouble coming up with ideas for posts recently, so I decided that I should take a look at the Draft posts that I have stored in WordPress. There are three, and this is the one that has been hanging around the longest. I started writing this a little over two years ago. I didn’t get far. All I had was a YouTube link that no longer goes anywhere, and a joke that doesn’t make any sense when I look at it now. I’ll spare you the joke. Here is a link (that works) to the song. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eXCkdNibmJw&list=PL5sOGnHh9XvH2n0g-asu3O5AO_XWoVAea.

The song above was from the first Geoff Muldaur album that I bought, “Geoff Muldaur Is Having A Wonderful Time,” back in the late 1970’s. The album was vinyl and I found it in a cut-out bin (that means that it was on sale) in a Karma Record store. I was living and working in Auburn, Indiana when I bought it.

Another song, actually a medley, from that album is I Want To Be A Sailor/Why Should I Love You: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qLyzGw0T6kE

I’ve shared that song with people over the years. Some get it; some don’t. I hope you get it. For that matter, I hope the link works.

After I bought that first album I did a little research and found that Muldaur had been married to Maria Muldaur. The truth be told, I was already a Maria Muldaur fan and bought this album because they had the same last name. I discovered that they met when they were both playing in Jim Kweskin’s Jug Band. Raise your hand if you recognize any of those names.

Here is a song from the album, “Geoff Muldaur & Amos Garrett”:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0gZMotDFPL0. This is an example of why Richard Thompson’s said of Muldaur, “There are only three white blues singers, and Geoff Muldaur is at least two of them.”

I admit that Muldaur is not everybody’s cup of tea, but he is a great cup of Earl Grey for me.

