Tags

What once was

What once was

I took this picture of a tulip plant in our front yard just a few days ago. When I went out to cut the grass today, I found that both blossoms had been plucked and tossed into the yard. I am disappointed in some of our neighborhood residents. I assume it was done by some youngster, but I don’t know for sure.

***

I have a bookcase filled with books that I mean to read. Many of them will be included in my Reading Challenge this year. I don’t need any more books at this time, but that doesn’t mean that I won’t purchase a few more as the year goes on. Yesterday, in the mail, I received a book catalog from one of my favorite mail order book companies, Daedalus Books. They have an interesting selection of books, and I am always tempted to buy one or two…or three…or four.

There are at least three reasons I won’t be reading any of the books in the catalog, and two of the reasons are because I don’t want to buy them. There are a couple that I do want to buy, but I don’t need them for the challenge this year. One of them is The Heretics: Adventures with the Enemies of Science, by Will Storr. It deals with people who choose to ignore scientific facts in favor of their own beliefs. It sounds interesting, but I don’t need it for the challenge this year. Another book that I would like is Traitor to The Crown: The Untold Story of the Popish Plot and the Conspiracy Against Samuel Pepys, by James Long and Ben Long. I think the title says it all. I may end up buying this book and saving it until next year’s reading challenge.

There are a few books that sound interesting, but I would never bother reading them because they are based on speculation. Two such books are The Missing Family of Jesus: An Inconvenient Truth — How The Church Erased Jesus’s Brother and Sisters from History, by Tobias Churton Watkins. I don’t buy it for a minute. Another such book is When Jesus Lived in India: The Quest for the Aquarian Gospel: The Mystery of the Missing Years, by Alan Jacobs. I’ll save my money, thank you.

And then there are the books that befuddle me because I have no idea why they were printed. In this catalog there is a book titled A Guinea Pig Pride & Prejudice, by Alex Goodwin and Tess Gammell. That’s right, there is a 56 page book retelling the Jane Austen book using photographs of guinea pigs dressed as the novel’s characters. Why? I understand that Pride and Prejudice is a hot commodity now. There is a version with Zombies of all things. I received a catalog from a different company a few weeks ago and was surprised at the number of books that were spun off from Jane Austen’s novel. There were at least five, and two of them were labeled Adult’s Only. It seems that Mr. Darcy exhibited a great deal of friskiness. Who knew? I won’t be buying any of those books.

 

