Tags

Legal Eagles

Legal Eagles

I went back to our collection of DVDs to choose one Saturday. I decided on “Legal Eagles,” and it was a good choice. The movie was released in 1986 and starred Robert Redford, Debra Winger and Darly Hannah. Brian Dennehy and Terrence Stamp also had key roles in the film.

I think that the movie is best described as a mystery/thriller/romantic comedy; though I didn’t think it was a head-scratching mystery. Maybe I’ve watched so many mysteries over the years that I’m seldom puzzled anymore; or maybe I just have a devious mind.

It has been a long time since I watched a movie with Debra Winger that wasn’t a drama, and so I was pleasantly reminded how good she is when being comedic. Redford, who is also at ease with comedy, seems to me to keep it low-key so that the transition back to drama is never jarring. Together, you get more chuckles than guffaws, and I like that.

The movie was directed and partially written by Ivan Reitman. To me, he is best known for producing and directing “Ghostbusters,” as well as producing and writing “Animal House.” He has worked both in film and television, live action and animation.

If you enjoy light-hearted films, I suggest that you watch “Legal Eagles.”

