Tags

Where did the sun go?

Where did the sun go?

We had quite a variety in the weather department here today. Most of the morning, while I was on the laptop,  was cloudy and breezy. Then around noon it started to rain with some small hail mixed in. After eating lunch and reading for a bit, I decided to lay down and take a nap. I didn’t fall asleep, so I guess I was trying to fool someone with those snoring noises I made. When I got up later the sun had come out. So I decided to go out and get a few spring-like photos. As you can see in this picture. The sunshine didn’t last long. As the rain started falling again, I went back to our dry house.

***

Speaking of taking a nap, it occurs to me that I, being a creature of habit, think similar thoughts each time I want to go to sleep. The thoughts change over time. For instance, many years ago when I was a bachelor, I almost always thought about women when I was in bed. Over time that changed to work (the bad old days). Now, for the most part, I think about writing.

To be clear, I don’t think about the act of writing, but rather I compose. Sometimes I compose letters that seldom get transferred to paper and mailed. However, some of those letters, after many mental revisions, do get transcribed and mailed.

Sometimes I mentally draft sections of the novel that I didn’t finish during NaNoWriMo this past year. Yes, I’m still working on it in fits and starts. I’ve scrapped portions of it; I’ve rewritten parts of it because I didn’t like how some of the characters came across. And I even brought one character back to life…he was needed. There have been a couple of spin-off projects brought on by the novel. Again, those things are often conceived in pre-sleep musings.

I even spend some of my bedtime composing blog posts. That practice began during my first year of blogging when I spent three days in the hospital. We didn’t own a laptop then, and I have never been able to write legibly in bed, so I composed in my head. I had plenty of time to polish my phraseology. As it was, though, when I got home and sat down at the PC, I forgot some big chunks of the prose I had worked on. I’m afraid that you’ll never know what you missed.

Sometimes the composition overlaps. Just yesterday I took a section of an unmailed letter and dropped it into my unfinished novel. I hope that doesn’t mean that those worthy words are doubly doomed to never being read. Time will tell.

What do you think about before you fall asleep? If you don’t mind sharing with a broader audience, feel free to add a comment to this post. If, however, you want to tell but also want to remain anonymous, you can fill in the attached contact form and I will keep your secret.

