Hour Of The Gun

Hour Of The Gun

I had hadn’t planned on watching “Hour Of The Gun” on Saturday. Because high school and college basketball is in the final tournament stage of the season, I had planned on watching “Hoosiers,” the best basketball film of all time. But, I first watched my Indiana Hoosiers beat Kentucky in the NCAA tournament, and I knew that “Hoosiers” would be anti-climactic. So I went with “Hour Of The Gun.”

There have been many movies concerning the battles between the Earp brothers, led by Wyatt, and the Clantons. The first that I remember seeing was “My Darling Clementine” starring Henry Fonda as Wyatt Earp. There was also “Gunfight At The O.K. Corral,” “Tombstone,” and “Wyatt Earp.” There have been more, but those are the ones that I remember.

“Hour Of The Gun” is unlike most of these movies in that it begins with the shootout at the O.K. Corral, and moves forward from there. I particularly like this movie for the actors who played Wyatt Earp and Doc Holliday, James Garner and Jason Robards. It seems to me that they brought a feeling of true friendship to the film. They would criticize each other, but at the end, despite their differences, they were there for each other. The other films that I mentioned also had memorable Earp/Holliday duos: Henry Fonda and Victor Mature, Burt Lancaster and Kirk Douglas, Kurt Russell and Val Kilmer, and of course Kevin Costner and Dennis Quaid. If Garner and Robards was the most satisfying duo for me, Costner and Quaid was the least. That’s just my opinion.

None of the movies is completely historically accurate, though “Hour Of The Gun” comes close in many respects. Dramatic license is always issued in movies that are based in fact. If you watch it, I think that you’ll like it.

I’ll get around to watching “Hoosiers” some other time.

