Tags

Dodge City

Dodge City

There is a reason that I don’t have a movie from Saturday to write about I didn’t watch any movies on Saturday, so I’m making up for it on Sunday. In my next post I’ll explain why I didn’t watch any movies on Saturday. Today’s movie is “Dodge City” starring Errol Flynn and the lovely Olivia de Havilland.

Like most movies set in the historical American west, there is very little historical fact in the movie. But it is still a movie worth watching. Westerns are often used as morality plays, and good usually wins out in the end. I grew up watching these movies on television when I was very young. That’s why I am such a good person, I suppose. Do I hear sniggering in the balcony?

The movie was directed by Michael Curtiz who also directed Flynn and de Havilland in “The Adventures of Robin Hood” and “Captain Blood.” They also starred together in five other movies, many of which I like very much. I was surprised to learn later in my life that they weren’t married to each other. Of the two, I believe that de Havilland was the better actor. Or maybe I was just enthralled with her good looks. I can be shallow that way.

Also in the movie was Alan Hale, frequent sidekick to Flynn and father to The Skipper on “Gilligan’s Island.” Bruce Cabot played the villain and Victor Jory was his main henchman. Ann Sheridan was the singer and dancer in the saloon. Ward Bond also had a small role in the movie. I had forgotten that.

I had also forgotten that the temperance meeting that Alan Hale’s character attended was put on by the Pure Prairie League. And yes, that was the inspiration of the name for the Country Western group.

I’ve read that “Dodge City” inspired Mel Brook’s “Blazing Saddles.” I suppose that could be correct. I just know that I enjoy watching the film every couple of years. It made for a fun Sunday afternoon.

I hope to be back on my Saturday movie write-up next week.

