Tags

The Company You Keep

The Company You Keep

For those of you who have long memories, I mentioned this week’s movie in a post back in December of 2013. I believe I devoted a few sentences to it then. I’ll write more today.

The Company You Keep is based on a novel by Neil Gordon. The story is set in the mid 2000’s and involves former members of the Weather Underground. I don’t want to go into too much detail, because, you know, spoilers. I am not a fan of spoilers, no matter how old the book or movie might be. Shia LeBeouf’s character is not one of the former members of the Underground, but is rather, a career hungry reporter. I did want to make that clear.

I should probably tell you that I read the novel a number of years before the movie came out, and I loved it. For me it captured the spirit of the late 60’s and early 70’s. The movie tried, and in some respects succeeded in capturing it as well. But a movie doesn’t have the time to spend on that sort of background.

The movie casting was excellent. I was particularly impressed with Susan Sarandon’s portrayal of Sharon Solarz and Julie Christie as Mimi Lurie. Nick Nolte and Richard Jenkins were also very good. I hate to admit it, but I was bothered by Robert Redford. As director and one of the producers, I understand why he cast himself as the lead. But I have to say that I thought he looked too old for the part. It could be that his makeup seemed uneven in the course of the film. In some cases it looked as if he was wearing too much makeup, and in other scenes he looked totally washed out. I am not knocking his acting skills. If it weren’t for the way he appeared, he could totally sell the part.

But that aside, I really like this movie. I would recommend it to anyone. I like the novel better, but the movie is fine.

***

Big Brother or Coincidence? Last week’s movie was The Big Fix, remember? When I checked my email this morning, I found a recommendation from Amazon.com to purchase the book that the movie was based upon. Now, I doubt that Amazon’s recommendation algorithm reads Classical Gasbagbut I’ll be checking their recommendations closer in the future.

