Tags

,

When the self-absorbed get bored

When the self-absorbed get bored

I admit that I haven’t been taking many pictures lately. I must have been really bored some time ago, because I decided to take a picture of myself taking a picture of myself. I’ve titled it “When the self-absorbed get bored.”

***

I always have a few things going on in my life, even though I am happily retired. One thing that I have been busy with is collecting a lot of information so that we can file our taxes. I have been doing our taxes for a long time now; ever since I learned the joys of tax software and electronic filing. But this year Cindy wants to have an accountant do our taxes. It is probably because she started her own business. I understand. So I have been collecting all of the forms mailed to us, running reports on our bank accounts, and filling out other forms for the accountant. My question, at this time, is what will he be doing other than taking everything we have done for him and plugging it into a software package? I hope to find out. I’m sure that it is something quite esoteric. If it isn’t, it will be like working with a consultant.

***

In between bouts of getting ready for taxes, I have been uploading a lot of music to the cloud. I purchase and download music from emusic. They automatically store all of the music I have purchased on the cloud, and I can access it any time I want from anything that has an Internet connection. They also allow you to upload your entire digital music collection to the cloud. That’s what I have been doing.

Over the years I have converted many of my vinyl albums to MP3s, and I have ripped most of my CDs to MP3s. In the last year or so I have started copying those MP3s to flash drives. Now I am uploading the music on those flash drives to my emusic account. It takes time, but it allows me have access to my music collection through my smart phone. That will be nice on trips.

Emusic uses Gracenote in the upload process, and the music is sorted in a number of ways. On sort makes the music available by artist. When a picture of the artist is available in their data bank, it is put on the cover of the file holding the music. I like this, but I have detected a slight problem. The picture assigned to folder is not always that of the correct artist. For instance, I noticed the other day that a folder of music by Mississippi John Hurt had a picture of

the actor John Hurt. A folder of music by the McGarrigle Sisters, Kate and Anna, had a picture of the Pointer Sisters. And I have no idea whose picture is on the folder of music by Norman Blake. I just know that it isn’t Norman. I’ve put the picture here so that you can identify him and tell me who he is. He is probably famous, but to me he is a mystery.

Who am I?

Who am I?

 

 

 

 

That is how some of my time is taken.

