Tags

,

Sign in the South Dakota Badlands

Sign in the South Dakota Badlands

I had one of those weekends when everything seemed to be going right, but I had a niggling feeling of disquiet? Something was wrong but I had no idea what it could have been. David Bromberg’s “Somebody Else’s Blues” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nE_lXJyHlSI seemed to sum it up well. I’m not saying that things were so great this weekend. I didn’t win the Powerball Lottery. No one did. But IU beat Ohio State handily. Purdue lost to Illinois. I came up with a pretty good recipe for chicken meatballs. I listened to a lot of great music recorded by Cal Tjader, for example https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=opdtYnUsvmc. But something just wasn’t right.

It was just bad enough that it put a bit of a damper on everything. It’s hard to get over something that you can’t identify. It’s kind of like coming across a word or phrase in a novel and not knowing the definition…and you have no dictionary or thesaurus available. You can make a solid guess based on context, but you can’t be sure. It is frustrating.

I was driving to the library this morning and realized that except for a run to the grocery store yesterday I hadn’t been away from the house since Thursday. Maybe that was it. Maybe, despite the good music and satisfactory outcome to a couple of basketball games, I was feeling the need to get out. I’m not sure that was the correct answer, but I started to feel better coming up with something.

I also decided to change the music today. I kept on my old man clothes but switched to Frank Sinatra. Even the ballads are helping my spirits. This song falls somewhere between a ballad and an uptempo song like Ring-A-Ding-Ding  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4oUfGdtA9-A. Enjoy.

