Tags

After the harvest

After the harvest

I took this picture with my phone Friday morning and knew that I wanted to use it. But I have nothing to write about today. I’m going to wait for a bit to see if inspiration strikes.

***

Ow! It struck. I’ve been giving thought recently to the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) challenge. It begins on November 1st. I enjoyed so much last year that I plan on doing it again.

I’ve had two or three ideas for the novel, and came up with one that interests me. It is very different from what I did last year. If I use this idea it will be a bigger challenge for me than last year’s finished work, and I find that somewhat daunting. But if can do it successfully, I will find it at least as satisfying as what I did last year.

But I have a problem. After jotting down some ideas on how to move forward with the actual writing, I realized that it reminds me of one of Vladimir Nabokov’s better (in my opinion) novels. I haven’t read that novel since I was in my twenties, but the fact that I remember the broad outline indicates to me that I may be drawing upon it.

My question is, am I wrong in doing that? Should I drop the idea entirely, or should I move forward? It’s not as if I want to follow in the footsteps of Borges’ character Pierre Menard. My purpose is not to cover the same ground exactly. I just have an idea that I want to pursue.

By this time you are probably saying to yourself, “Who cares. Nobody is going to read it anyway.” That’s true. I doubt if more than one or two people will read it. Excellent point! Even if they did work their way through it, I doubt that they would be expecting to read The Great American Novel. Yes, that is an excellent point. I believe I’ll go ahead with my idea. Unless I have a better one before November.

