Tags

,

Autumn is here

Autumn is here

I took this picture earlier today. You may not be able to tell from the photo, but the green leaves are losing their luster. Soon they will be changing to the browns, golds, oranges and reds of true autumn. And soon I’ll be raking and blowing leaves from our yard.

***

It has been quite some time since I gave an update on the reading challenge I set for myself. I will admit to a long dry spell when I couldn’t seem to finish a book. I’m going to blame it on the good weather that we’ve had in Indiana since the rain storms passed earlier this year. Good weather outside is not conducive to reading inside. But I have finally finished three books since my last update.

Against the Odds

Against the Odds

The first is Against The Odds by Kat Martin. Reading this book fulfilled the challenge to read a romance novel. Let me start by saying that I almost never read books that label themselves as Romance. This book purported to be a danger filled mystery as well as a Romance. There was danger, but the mystery wasn’t all that mysterious, and the romance seemed more like lust to my mind. I guess I’m not a fan of the genre.

 

 

Go Set A Watchman

Go Set A Watchman

The next book was a late addition to my list. It is Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee. It was a much appreciated gift from Cindy. It fulfills the challenge of reading something from this decade. It has been a controversial publication, upsetting many fans of her To Kill A Mockingbird. I have to admit that I have never read Mockingbird, though I have seen the movie. Mockingbird was too recent a book to be included as reading in high school when I was growing up, and for whatever reason it was not included in any of the college literature courses that I took. Just my luck. Actually it was lucky because it allowed me to read Watchman with undistorted eyes. I saw the character of Atticus as an old man who exhibited prejudices that he had learned as a child. He had been able to put them aside as an adult during the time of Mockingbird, but they were back in his old age when his thought processes weren’t as clear as when he was younger. That seems perfectly normal to me. This book is a good read and I would recommend it.

Elizabeth: Virgin Queen

Elizabeth: Virgin Queen

This next book, Elizabeth: Virgin Queen by Phillippa Jones, fulfills the challenge of finishing a book that I had previously started but gave up on. I had two other books that I tried for a second time but gave up on for a second time before I finished this book. I was never quite sure why I put this book down before, because it is interesting. It deals with Queen Elizabeth I of England and the rumors surrounding her virginity. I don’t want to give anything away, but more than one rumor is investigated. I will state, however, that there are no rumors of her copulating with aliens from outer space. At least there are none in this book.

Well, I have four more books to read before the end of the year to complete my challenge. I don’t know how easy or hard that will be. I have to consider that if I take of the NaNoWriMo challenge again this year, the month of November will be taken up with it. By the way, right now I do plan on doing NaNoWriMo again, so wish me luck with the reading.

