Tags

Back yard devastation

Back yard devastation

I took this picture through a dirty second story window. I did my best to clean up the picture, but I’m not sure that it is a good enough job. Read on to see what it is all about.

Because Cindy felt that there was too much shade on the pool (just to the left of the picture), she set one of her oxpeckers the task of alleviating that supposed problem. He hasn’t finished yet, but this is his progress as of around noon today. I had to force myself to look out of one of our windows to take this picture. I’ve closed all possible curtains and blinds to keep from seeing the devastation to the trees.

It doesn’t help me that we are experiencing a power outage as I write these words using a pen and paper (what a concept!). I’m destroying my hearing by using my MP3 player at top volume to shut out the sound of the chainsaw. I’m also hoping that the music will help lighten my mood. The first song is helping, It’s the Moody Blues. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-wDHvmCVRxU. At least the tempo is helping. The lyrics are kind of a downer.

OK, the next song by Lou Rawls is definitely a downer. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Phpaq7E_Xs4. It fits my mood, but I was really hoping for something happier. I may need to rethink having the player on a random shuffle setting.

The damned MP3 player is conspiring to lock me into a foul mood. Even Linda Ronstadt is in on it. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GfMNnZL-YuM. At least my mood isn’t bad because of a failed romance. Those days are thankfully far in the past.

Two hours later and the power is back on. According to the power company, the problem was about a block from our house. If there had been power lines near our back yard I know who I would have blamed. I guess that I’ve got the rant out of my system, but it will be some time before I can bear to go into the yard, or even set on our shade free deck.

