Tags

,

Graveyard

Graveyard

This is not the graveyard that I reference in this post. I couldn’t quickly find a photo of that one. Instead, I selected this picture from an album of graveyard images on Flickr. I just hope that I haven’t used this photo in Classical Gasbag in the past.

***

So I had an idea this morning, and I want to get it down while it is still fresh in my mind. Some details need to be worked out, some laws (domestic and international) need to be investigated, and I should probably see if there is a way to make money from this idea. Please read on. Oh. Before you go to the next paragraph, let me assure you that I am in excellent health.

The idea grew out of a short video that I took with my phone this morning. I was driving past a very small family graveyard and pointed my camera out of the window. It isn’t a good video, though you can hear Stan Rogers singing “Northwest Passage” in the background, so unless I can get a good still image from the video, I’ll have to go through files of graveyard photos to see if I have an image of the place.

Anyway, I viewed the video when I got home and the motion brought on my idea. If you’ve read this blog before, you know that I want to be cremated. My original thought was to have the cremains placed in a Mason Jar so that Cindy could take and display me everywhere she goes. Then she could, at an appropriate time, pass me down to Trina. I suppose that if Cindy wished to, she could also be cremated and have her ashes mixed with mine.

Why stop there? Why not divide the cremains (I almost typed spoils) and mail bits and pieces of myself to friends and family? Then they could do what they wanted to do with me. For example, they could put me in their compost heap, or feed me to their African Violets, or mix me into a can of paint and put me on their living room wall, or…well let your imagination run wild.

Of course I haven’t checked to see if there are any laws restricting the mailing of cremains. What if it was legal in the U.S., but illegal in India? Would my idea go all to smash? Is this already being done? As I said, more research needs to be done.

If you have any ideas you would like to share, feel free to comment. If you want to invest in this idea, please use the form below to contact me.

By the way, I haven’t shared this idea with Cindy. I know that if I did she would just shake her head and give me a look of disgust. She needs to lighten up.

