Tags

,

Urban Art - Military Cat

Urban Art – Military Cat

I took this picture when I was in downtown Lafayette today. I ran my errand and then walked into an alley in search of a mural that I had noticed a few weeks before. I must have been in the wrong alley because the mural wasn’t there. I did find, however, this work. I haven’t labelled it wall art, as I usually do, because it really isn’t on a wall. The surface is more like a combination of fence and wall. Oh, and it is a black and white photo because I am submitting it to Leanne Cole’s Monochrome Monday. I haven’t submitted anything in recent months because I didn’t feel that I had anything worth showing, but I kind of like this picture. You can get a better look at the photo by left clicking on the image.

***

The other morning we lost our Internet connection and WiFi. I found out when Cindy told me she wasn’t able to send an email. I got right on it, after I climbed out of bed and had my first cup of coffee. I was hoping that it would fix itself, but it didn’t. I walked into the office/library/computer room and looked at the cable modem. The only light that was lit on it was the Power light; all of the others were dark. I did what I always try first, I unplugged the modem, waited a bit, and then plugged it back in. That didn’t work, so I tried it again; and again it didn’t work.

That’s when I decided to call the cable company’s tech support. I got a recording that asked questions, and based upon the (limited) responses, offered a course of action. The recording told me to unplug the modem, wait a bit, and then plug it back in. The recording then asked me if the problem was solved. When I responded with a firm “No,” I was put on hold to wait for a human being.

The kind technician who spoke to me suggested that I unplug the modem, wait a bit, and then plug it back in. When I told the tech that I had tried that three times and that it didn’t work, she asked me to try it again. I humored her and did so. When, once again, it didn’t work, she tried rebooting the modem from her end. That didn’t work either. She then said that she would schedule someone to come out and look at the modem (perhaps a good stare would cure it). I knew that I didn’t want to wait for hours, perhaps days, for a tech to show up, so I asked if I could just take the modem into the local Comcast office and trade it in. “Oh,” said she, “You can do that. Just let me see if they have any in stock. Yes, they do.” She then thanked me for calling and said a few more canned things that would reflect well upon her when they later surveyed me.

So, I unplugged the modem for a final time, and headed to the office. When I got there I saw that there was a man and a woman standing in front of the door. They were talking, so I thought nothing of it. However when I got to the door I realized that the office wasn’t open. I read the sign and saw that they didn’t open until 10 a.m. I checked the time. It was 9:35. Aloud I said, “They don’t open for another 25 minutes?”

The woman turned to me and said, “They don’t open until 10.” I thought that was just a different way of saying what I had just uttered, but let it go. There was no reason to be unpleasant.

I said, “I guess I’ll come back later.”

She said, “You should wait because there might be a long line later.”

I turned and left. I drove to our Doctor’s office to have some blood removed from my body so that lab work could be done before my appointment next week. Accomplishing that I drove back to the Comcast office. I arrived a 10:05 and found no line of people standing outside the door. I walked in and took a number. I had #90. An electric sign on the wall showed me that they were serving #87. Since there were three customer service reps working the counter, I didn’t expect to wait long. I was right. In just a few minutes I was headed home with a new cable modem.

I hooked it up, called a toll-free number where they activated the new modem, and all was right with our Internet world. Isn’t it nice to hear something good about a cable company? Except that they do open their doors way too late in the day.

