Tags

,

Kevin

Kevin

This is another of the art pieces in the Art Museum of Greater Lafayette’s Lions and Tigers and Bears, Oh My! exhibit. Kevin is a piece by Lorie Amick and LaDonna Vovar. He is dressed correctly for our current weather.

***

I have been in a verbal slump for the past few months. You can tell by the paucity of posts recently. I’m still in that slump. I can’t even come up with a line or two for ideas to write about of things about which to write. Though it seems that I can still occasionally worry about ending a sentence with a preposition. Do the grammar police still worry about such things? Should they?

In order to keep somewhat occupied while I’m not writing, I have picked up on a task that I work on every now and then. For the past few weeks I have been ripping my CDs to MP3 files and transferring them to flash drives. I started on my jazz albums last week. For the past two days I have been working on my Dave Brubeck albums. I probably own thirty or more albums by Brubeck. I started listening to him the summer before I went away to college, and have listened ever since then. Some of the CDs that I’m ripping were made from vinyl albums that I converted to MP3 and burned to discs. Technologies change.

Working on the Brubeck albums is a labor of love for me. I have inserted links to Brubeck music five or six times in the past, but there is so much good music of his available, I’ve decided to add three links in this post. The first is Give A Little Whistle from the album “Dave Digs Disney.” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6FIVBzY5S4 It was recorded in 1957 and features Dave Brubeck on piano, Paul Desmond on alto saxophone, Joe Morello on drums, and Norman Bates (not from the Bates motel) on bass.

The next song is Time In from the album with the same name.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_bbCbBZVzjU It was recorded in 1965 and released the following year. The personnel on the album was the quartet that most people think of when they hear Dave Brubeck. Dave Brubeck on piano, Paul Desmond on alto saxophone, Joe Morello on drums, and Eugene Wright on bass. I saw the Quartet in concert between the time of the recording and the release of the album. They played many of the songs from tha album, and it is one of my favorites.

The third song is Georgia On My Mind from his “Indian Summer” album. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MMKPCuPd0g0 The album is from 2007. It was recorded when Brubeck was 86, and is a solo album. This song, like the rest of the album, finds him in a reflective mood. It is among my favorite non-quartet albums.

I hope you enjoy the music.

