Tags

,

Sun coming up Sunday morning

Sun coming up Sunday morning

There isn’t much to say about this picture, other than it is my favorite time of day. It looks to be a beautiful day.

***

You may have thought that I gave up on my personal reading challenge, but I haven’t. It is simply that I started a book in which, while I like it, I can’t seem to maintain sustained interest. I haven’t given up on it, but I decided to put it aside for a while. I spent more than a month with that book, and have only read about half of it. I’ll try it again in a few weeks, after doing some more light reading.

If you’ve forgotten, or never knew what I challenged myself to read this year, you can find it by clicking here. So, to bring you up to date, I previously read six books and now I can cross off another four.

Batman: Hush

Batman: Hush

The first of those four is Batman: Hush. This book fulfills my Graphic Novel category. I have to admit that I didn’t find this book satisfying. There were two main reasons, and they deal with my personal preferences. First, I prefer graphic novels that tell a story outside of the mainstream comic book mythos. One of the first graphic novels that I read was Detectives, Inc.: A Remembrance of Threatening Green by Don McGregor and Marshall Rogers. It is superior to this Batman novel which is only the reprint of a story arc from a comic book. Second, since I haven’t read a mainstream comic book in many years, I was pretty much lost in the story line and with some of the characters. I’ll probably give the book to my older grandson.

 

The Widows of Eastwick

The Widows of Eastwick

Next is a novel from the 2000’s, one of the decades in which I’ve been alive. It is The Widows of Eastwick by John Updike. It is a sequel to his The Witches of Eastwick which was published in 1987. I was in a book club back then, and it was one of the monthly selections that I bought. I’m glad that I read the first book back then, because it made this novel about the widows easier to understand. Every time I read one of Updike’s novels I ask myself why I haven’t read more, and more often. I need to get a few more of his books…after I finish this challenge.

 

 

The Holy Thief

The Holy Thief

I decide to next read an author whom I hadn’t read before. So I chose The Holy Thief by William Ryan. This is a mystery set in Russia in the time when Stalin was dictator. I’m not overly fond of mysteries set in other historical eras, but since this one is set in the relatively near past (I was alive in this period), and since I thought that it was well written, I enjoyed the book. It is the first in a series of books, and I will be looking for the next one.

 

 

The Ipcress File

The Ipcress File

Finally I went back to the 1960’s, another decade in my life, and I reread The Ipcress File by Len Deighton. I admit up front that this may well be my favorite Spy Thriller of all time. When I bought this book I had been reading the James Bond novels and other books written in the same style. This book, however, broke that mold by injecting humor and intelligence into the mix, as well as eliminating a lot of the violence. If you have never read this book, I recommend it highly.

