Tags

,

Yes, That Road

Yes, That Road

When I saw that sign I knew that I had to follow the detour until I could connect with That Road. It never did connect. I was led on by a series of detour signs. At least those roads took me in the general direction that I wanted.

***

 I took a day trip to Bloomington last week. I was lucky in that it was the prettiest day of the week. It was so pretty that I took back roads all of the way. The delays for road work were minimal. It was glorious. I had the foresight to take along a stack of CDs to play on the way down and back. There are few things better than driving along with the windows down and good music playing. I started with The Beach Boys https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AtLY9oLTGMg. It seemed appropriate.

As I approached Bloomington, this Johnny Rivers song came on https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IX0yvGDGGeM. It had a calming effect on me, and I slowed to relish the anticipation that was building. It has been a long time since I was last in Bloomington and on the IU campus. I am always surprised at how much things change between visits.

The first thing that I noticed was the new (to me) baseball field. When I had been a student there, the diamond was immediately north of our dorm. Every year there was at least one story circulated, occasionally with names, of a maiden who, on a dark night, had been deflowered on home plate. When the act was consummated, the young woman would then hear applause from students in the bleachers. I know that it was apocryphal. Who would choose home plate, the dustiest part of the field? No; anyone in their right mind would go to right field where the grass is always lush. Anyway, the new field is  now down in the complex along with Assembly Hall and the football stadium.

I went on to the quadrangle where I had lived in the dorms for four years. Not much has changed there, except for the trees. There were only saplings planted there when I was a student. I know that they swapped them out every few years so that there were never fully developed trees. I don’t know why they did that. This year the trees were larger and leafier than I recall. There were areas of shade where before there had only been sunlight.

I got back in my car and headed down to the main part of campus. As a student I would have walked, but those years are long gone. I would have had to make at least three stops for rest if  had tried walking last week. Perhaps I should have walked and rested, because due to work on the streets and new parking restrictions, I could find nowhere to park. I had to skip some of the places I had intended to visit. No fear though, I’ll be going back again later in the summer. I have already made that decision. I’ll be better rested and in better shape when I return.

I went to the south side of town and turned west onto a street heading west. I wasn’t on it long before I came to the sign in the picture. I had to follow the detour, because I had never been on That Road. Maybe I’ll find it next time I go down.

Music on the way back? John Fogarty. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3I5_zOrji9I

