Tags

,

Back of a building

Back of a building

I have wanted to get a picture of this building from this angle for a long time, but have never seemed to find the time to do it until last week. I love the wooden stairs and walkway set against the red brick and cinder block. The rectangular doors, windows and other features also make it interesting. If only I could have talked the owners of the vehicles into parking somewhere other than the funeral home parking lot, I would have had an unobstructed view.

Last night was my youngest granddaughter’s annual dance school recital. They do more than just teach different types of dancing at this school; but more of that in a bit.

The show started with a video to introduce the staff. In the video the owner/director/instructor, Miss A, entered stage left, prancing like a high-stepping show pony, head thrown back to better display her flashing fake smile, onto some part of the Purdue campus. Then she was transported to an empty fake warehouse where she was doing dance moves to a techno-beat accompanied by strobe light flashes. Then each of the staff members, in turn, was introduced like the characters in a crime drama, a la TJ Hooker; you know, flashes of them in action followed by a still shot of them with their name below them on the screen. Each in turn was then inserted into the fake warehouse behind Miss A, following her lead in the dance moves. This went on for five or six minutes until everyone except the janitors were introduced.

This year the school added some form of exercise where the participants squat, legs spread, using two foot long lime-green plastic sticks to beat the ground and swing around their bodies. I was happy to see that no eyes were put out during their demonstration. They have also added acting, in which my granddaughter excelled. Now I understand why she is becoming a drama queen.

I actually enjoyed the recital more than I have in past years. In past years the music chosen for the routines was almost all from the techno/rap/Brittany Spears mode. This year there was more music that was relatable (to me) for the types of dance being performed. For instance, they played Fred Astaire’s version of Puttin’ On The Ritz https://vimeo.com/6971656 for a tap number. Of course I couldn’t help but think of Young Frankenstein https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w1FLZPFI3jc, but I’m sure I was the only one who did. Maely, my granddaughter, put in a performance somewhere between the two. I thought that she was excellent.

I was surprised that for one of the ballet numbers they chose to use Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qafnJ6mRbgk that they incorrectly identified as being from the 1950’s. Oh, these youngsters!

One of the highlights of the evening, not counting Maely’s performances, was a group of young girls, certainly pre-school age, dressed in tutu skirts, moving to music (I think it was Twist And Shout). One of the girls missed her mark and landed on a smaller girl’s mark. The smaller girl took umbrage at that and tried to push the larger girl away, twice. The other little girls kept moving more or less to the music. Finally the music ended with most of the girls walking off while the other two glared at each other for a moment. I believe that the smaller girl might have anger management issues.

After the intermission the recital returned to what we have come to expect, the teachers performing. If Maely didn’t have one more chance to show her stuff, I would have been content to leave.

I don’t have a photo from the recital because I have never been able to get a good shot. I didn’t even try this year. Maybe next year. Maely wants to play a piano solo. She started taking lessons last month.

 

