Tags

Farmhouse on a clear day

Farmhouse on a clear day

This is another picture that I took before the leaves were fully formed on the trees. It was a beautiful spring day though, and I wanted to capture how good it seemed after the long cold winter.

***

I woke up around 6 a.m. this morning, remembering a dream that I had in the early morning hours. Rather than let it slip from my memory, I grabbed a pen and book from the bedside an jotted down as many salient points as I could remember. I decided to share this dream so that you can see what goes on in my mind when my guard is down.

When the dream begins I am in jail. I don’t know why I am there, but I know it is only for a few days. Yes, I’m sure this is some kind of throwback to ten years ago. Check out my post April 19, 2015 for details. My dream jail wasn’t as nice as the real jail. The cell was empty except for a cot. Everything, including the walls, ceiling and floor was beige. The door was iron, painted beige. I wasn’t wearing stripes or orange, just beige pants, shirt, shoes and socks. It was pretty drab.

Evidently I was able to leave the cell when it was time to eat, because I heard a buzzing noise and the cell clicked open. So I walked into the hallway which was beige, turned left and started walking. I must have turned in the wrong direction because after going down the hallway that had no doors or windows, and after making a few turns, I came to a dead end. I turned around and tried to retrace my steps. I could not find my way back to my cell and I knew that it was a bad thing. So I kept on walking through the beige halls trying to find something that looked familiar. When everything is beige, nothing looks familiar.

Eventually I came to a beige escalator that was going up. I knew that I had not gone down any steps, but I decided to see where it went. How much more trouble could I get into? I rode the escalator up one flight and got off where I found a stairwell. I went up the stairs another flight where it ended at a glass door. I went through the door and found myself in a shopping mall. Nothing was beige. My clothes had even taken on some color. I thought it was odd that there was a mall above the jail, or rather that there was a jail below the mall, but I wandered around looking for a deputy to whom I could turn myself in. I didn’t want them to think that I was trying to escape. There were no deputies in sight.

Since it was a high-end mall and I had no money, I found an exit and walked into the street. I didn’t recognize where I was. It seemed like it might be on the near north side of Lafayette but nothing looked familiar. So I walked around looking for a landmark that would tell me where I was. It was a bright, sunny, warm day and it felt good to be outside. There were lots of people out and about, and they all seemed to be dressed in very colorful clothing. I walked through a park-like area and saw people having picnics and playing on the grass. There were a few people laying down, taking naps, on what appeared to be an old abandoned railway spur.

As I reached the edge of the park I saw some distinctive buildings that I thought would be good subjects for photographs. I knew that I would want to return with a camera after I got my jail time out of the way. I decided to find a street sign so I would know where to come back to. I walked to the corner and checked the street signs. I was on the corner of Park and Species. Species? That sounded like an address on an old episode of The Twilight Zone. That’s when I woke up.

So I’m guessing that writing about my ten-year anniversary spurred this dream. Everything being beige was probably a symbol of my life and being lost in the jail was my job. The mall, the people in bright colors having fun in the park, the interesting buildings were all manifestations of life after incarceration. I have no idea what being on the corner of Park and Species meant.

