Tags

, ,

Finally it is getting green

Finally it is getting green

The sky is overcast today, but that didn’t stop me from going out to get a picture of greenery. The grass is green, most of the shrub growth has started to leaf, and some of the trees are blooming and starting to leaf out. I had to take some pictures to show that it is finally Spring. I would be cutting grass today if it hadn’t rained earlier.

***

This has been one of those mornings when my mind was ignoring what was happening around me and just skipped from one thing to another with no discernible rhyme or reason. Of course there wasn’t much going on around me because it was 3:30 a.m.; I was wide awake and laying in bed in a dark room. So of course I started reflecting on the fact that most prime time TV dramas are merely soap operas that are shown after the sun goes down (unless you record them and watch them during the day). By the way, the shows are called soap operas because their early commercial sponsors were soap companies.

You may be too young to remember, or to disinterested to care, but soap operas were born as radio shows in the 1930’s in the U.S. Soap operas are never-ending stories that surround a group of characters. They migrated to TV and are still alive and kicking. They are produced and shown in many other countries, including most of Europe, Australia, India and Mexico.

And thinking about the soaps led me to think about comic strips that were continuity strips rather than gag-a-day. Continuity strips actually appeared before soap operas were first broadcast. Thimble Theater, the strip where Popeye first appeared was a continuity strip. I grew up reading strips such as Steve Roper and Mike NomadDondi, and Apartment 3-G. I loved Alex Kotzky’s artwork on Apartment 3-G. I don’t know how long it took me to figure out that the apartment number, 3-G, was a joke about the strip’s three girls (actually women) who shared an apartment.

But then my mind jumped, for no reason, to trying to remember the name of the girl who Tiny Tim married on the Johnny Carson show. I kept wanting to say that it was Miss Piggy , but I knew that Tiny Tim wasn’t strange enough that  he would marry a muppet. At that point I opened my eyes and turned on my smart phone. A quick Google told me that the woman was best known as Miss Vicky. What I hadn’t remembered was that after their divorce, he was married twice more.

Since I was searching for information, I returned to Wikipedia Apartment 3-G listing to check on the spelling of Mr. Kotzky’s name. It was then that I found out that the strip still exists. I decided to check it out. I have to say that compared to Mr. Kotzky’s artwork, the strip that I saw looked like it had been drawn by a junior high school student…on a bad day. Oh dear.

On that low note I’ll end today’s post. I hope you have a good day.

