Tags

, ,

Wall art #10

Wall art #10

This is the last picture of a mural in my files. That isn’t to say that it will be the last that I post. I know the location of another two or three murals but I haven’t gone out to capture the images yet. I hope that you have been enjoying these pictures.

***

Back in January I set myself a reading challenge for the year. Just click on the link to go back and see what type of books are in the challenge. I’ve read my first three books, and can check off three categories: a mystery, a book recommended by a friend, and an autobiography. The books are:

A Way With Murder

A Way With Murder

A Way With Murder by R.J. Jagger. Like many of the books that I buy, I found this one on sale. I have to admit that I was drawn to it by the cover. It reminded me of art work that used to be on the covers of paperback mysteries that I would buy back in the 1960’s and 70’s. I was disappointed with this book. There were too many coincidences, too many characters with strange unlikely names, and new characters being introduced late in the book. The novel was set in 1952 but some of the language seemed to be drawn from modern usage. I’ll be donating my copy of this book to the library later this year.

 

Kafka on the Shore

Kafka on the Shore

The second book I read was Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami. This novel was recommended by a friend. This is one of the best books that I have read in years. It reminded me of books that I read in college. I heard echoes of Borjes, Günter Grass, Cervantes, and Vonnegut among others. I’ll be returning to this novel, likely more than once. I recommend it to anyone who likes to think. I also plan to buy more books by Murakami in the future. Thanks, Anju, for telling me about the book and author.

 

 

Who Am I 003

Who Am I

The third book was the autobiography, Who Am I by Pete Townshend. I wanted to read this book not because I’m a big fan of The Who or of Townshend himself, but because the group was big during a very fertile period of rock and roll. I must admit that I was disappointed with this autobiography. While it came in at over five hundred pages, there wasn’t a lot of interesting (to me) information.  It seemed to me that Townshend spent more ink writing about his various music projects than he did about his family. He writes that his wife felt abandoned at times, and I can believe it. His creative projects were more important to him than his family. I guess that I’m not really disappointed in the book, but I am disappointed in him.

Now I’m on to my next book, a fantasy. Expect another update in a few months.

