Tags

Small graveyard in winter

Small graveyard in winter

It is another sub-zero morning, just as it was yesterday when I took this picture. It promises to stay this cold until the weekend. Yay (he commented sarcastically). I took this picture yesterday after I left my doctor’s office. I like these small, often single family, grave yards that are scattered all over the place. I believe that the first time I was aware of them was when I went to college at IU. There was a small graveyard on campus in front of my dormitory. I need to go back and take a picture or two. There is another graveyard in the middle of campus beside the student union. Maybe I’ll get down there when spring comes around.

***

I went to the doctor’s office as a follow-up so he could determine that a new medication that he put me on was not killing me. It isn’t. I wasn’t in the waiting area long, so there wasn’t much opportunity to observe the people around me. However, while checking in I overheard another receptionist saying to another patient, “I don’t know the answer to that question, but your insurance plan book should tell you.” The patient responded, “You mean in writing?” as if it were the most astounding thing she had ever heard. Perhaps she expected the plan to speak aloud to her, or was surprised that the book might have an answer for her question.

I’ve known for a long time that many people prefer to ask questions rather than try to find the answer themselves by reading. I am not that kind of person, so it came as a surprise to me when I first found this out while training groups of adults. They could have an instruction manual with detailed information on the training subject sitting in front of them, but would not open the cover as long as a human being was in the room with them. That was when I realized that we were turning into a non-reading society.

I know that many people still enjoy reading on a large number of subjects, but I fear that the number is shrinking. I am also a member of the sound bite society, so I too have my faults. I just hope that we can instill a love of reading in future generations…but I worry.

***

By the way, I didn’t want to publish this post, not for reasons of content, but because it is my 666th post in Classical Gasbag. I know how Christians feel about this number. Maybe some will think that I’m drawing a straight line from lack of reading to the apocalypse. Well, maybe I am. So grab a book and read!

