Tags

,

The culprit

The culprit

WARNING! This post is all about me! Nothing new? Well, that’s a fair observation.

I posted to this blog yesterday, but then came back and Trashed the post an hour or so later. If you were notified of the post but couldn’t find it, I’m sorry for the confusion. Blame it on this picture…or perhaps I should say that you need to give credit to this picture.

It is an innocuous picture. It is just an updated version of the picture that I posted on Sunday. It shows the small amount of increase in snow coverage that we received Sunday morning. “No big deal,” you say. I agree.

Except that it became a big deal to me. It became a big deal because I had submitted the picture to Leanne Cole’s Monochrome Madness post for the week. It isn’t anywhere good enough to be included in that post. As I look back, I concede that many of the pictures that I have submitted shouldn’t have been included. I sent an email to Leanne asking her to not include the picture this week. I knew when I submitted the picture that it wasn’t good enough, so why did I send it to her?

The quick and simple answer is that I developed visions of grandeur over my photography skills. I enjoyed showing my photos to a wider audience. It felt good.

But as I started thinking about it, I realized that I had lost sight of a few things. For one, most of the pictures I post are explained with words in Classical Gasbag, but when they appear in Leanne’s blog there is no background information. There is just the picture. My pictures are seldom worth a thousand words. I’m sure that many people, when looking at one of my photos says “What’s this all about then?” When I thought about that, my ego started to deflate a bit. That’s a good thing. Humility is good.

There have been a few times that I posted a picture with the only purpose of having something to send to Leanne. It was addictive. I have been told that I have something of an addictive personality.

I also thought back to when I started Classical Gasbag and remembered that the words had always been more important than the pictures. Sometime in the past year I forgot that basic premise. Like I said, visions of grandeur.

So the upshot of all of this is I will only a submit a picture to Monochrome Madness when I think the picture deserves to be seen outside of the confines of Classical Gasbag. That isn’t likely to happen very often. At least here you may get a glimpse into why I took a particular picture. After all, the words are more important than the picture, and it is all about me.

