Tags

, ,

Wall art #7

Wall art #7

Here is another of the murals in downtown Lafayette. I will admit that I have no clue to what this mural represents, but it is colorful enough to warrant a viewing. I took this picture a few months ago. There are still more murals in that area that I will post pictures of as time goes by. I’m also looking for wall art in other parts of town.

***

Today marks the start of the fourth year of Classical Gasbag. The concept of what I planned for this blog has changed since I began posting, and I’m sure that it will continue to change. After all, I have changed since I began this project. Change is good.

You may have noticed that I changed the header today. I decided to go with something simpler. I had planned to change the previous header for about a year, but I never seemed to find time to do so. This is another good change.

***

Our cable went out yesterday around 4:30 p.m. We not only get cable TV, but also use a cable modem for Internet connection. I called the cable company to report the loss and got a recorded message that it was a problem in our area, and that service should be restored at approximately 6:18. That seemed like a very specific time for an approximation. The message went on to suggest watching for updates on the company website. That would have been fine if I could get an Internet connection.

Since I had no plans to watch TV until later that night or to surf the net, I wasn’t overly concerned. I tried the TV at 6:30 to watch the news, but the system wasn’t up yet. I got back on the phone for an update. I got the same canned message except now the expected time for repairs to be complete was 8:10. Well, that would be OK if true. I wanted to watch the IU basketball game against our arch rival, Purdue. The game was scheduled to start at 9.

I checked the TV again at 8:15. The system was still down. This time the recorded message said that it would be down until 10 p.m. Perhaps I could see the second half.

10 p.m. No system. System expected to be up around 11:15. No game for me.

On a whim I checked the TV at 10:20. It was back! Hallelujah! I turned the game on in time to see the last eight minutes or so. IU got trounced. Why did I bother watching?

Welcome to my fourth year of blogging.

