Tags

,

The Autograph

The Autograph

My youngest granddaughter, Maely, does not lack in confidence at the age of nine. The other day Cindy came home and handed me the piece of paper that I scanned and added to this post. Cindy explained that it was an autograph from Maely. She was kind enough to give us one now because she knew that when she was famous she wouldn’t have time to sign an autograph for us, her grandparents. She failed to tell Cindy for what she will become famous. It seems that she will be famous enough to get by with only her first name.  Right now, I suppose, she is thinking that fame will come for her guitar playing, or her artistic skills, or perhaps one of the many sports in which she is involved. Maybe she expects fame from all of her endeavors. I only hope that she realizes what a big boost this autograph will give to the owner of the barbershop on whose notepad she jotted off her signature.

***

I was watching the national news the other night, and there was a report on the Santa Ana winds in California. Despite some of the terrible pictures and descriptions in the report, I thought of the Steve Goodman song, Santa Ana Winds. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GYwbmymqOBI. It isn’t doom and destruction, or how the winds drive people mad; it’s more a breezy tune. Huh. Breezy. That’s the word I was looking for. The tune fits the circumstances. That is one sign of a good song.

Once you think of one Steve Goodman recording, you start thinking of others. The Lovin’ Of The Game was on his second album, the first that I bought. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SHBQ3ICu7V8. Goodman didn’t write the song, that was done by Pat and Victoria Garvey. I prefer this version to both Judy Collins’ and Jerry Jeff Walker’s.

Since I always do music in threes, I’ll wrap this group up with Steve’s You Never Even Called Me By My Name. He had a lot of fun in this performance. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hsa5IiNjIkQ. Was that Tip O’Neill in the audience?

