Tags

Sunlight through the trees

Sunlight through the trees

This is one of a number of pictures that I took on Wednesday after I drove Cindy to work. She needed gas in her car but didn’t want to stand in the cold to pump it. At the time it was around 1° F with a wind chill factor of -20° F. That translates to -17° and -29° C respectively. I didn’t blame her, so I drove her to work, filled her car with gas, and then drove home a long way around. I kind of liked the way the sunlight was coming through the trees and brush on this back road. There were very few other drivers on the route that I chose, so I was able to take my time to stop and take a few pictures.

***

I’ve noticed that over the past few years I get advertising mail that is sent to me due to my age. I believe that in past posts I’ve mentioned getting a lot of mail trying to sell me hearing aids and life in retirement homes. Recently, however, I’ve started getting ads trying to sell me motorcycles. I can only guess that the sellers believe that I am experiencing some form of later-life, rather than mid-life, crisis. If that were the fact I would more likely be looking at sports cars that I would have trouble getting into and getting out of. Motorcycles don’t interest me; not even the motorized tricycles that Harley-Davidson™ sells. I get these motorcycle solicitations from more than one dealership, so I believe the industry is targeting a specific age group. I wonder how many they sell.

Also in the realm of strange mail, a few days ago I received a postcard addressed to Mr Norman L Houseman. It came from an Assistant Professor in the Department of Nutrition Science at Purdue University. When I turned the card over to read it I found that there was a research project being conducted and that members of the community were being asked to join. That sounded interesting. I thought that maybe they got my name because of my diabetes. But no; that was not the case.

I went on to read that they were looking for women who had recently had a specific form of gastric bypass surgery in the past six months, and who were between the ages of 18 and 50 years old. So the very intelligent Purdue University PhD had addressed the card to a Mr, but stated they were looking for women who had a surgery that I had not had, and who were younger than me. Based on their quality control, I don’t hold out great hope for their research study. But then, it is Purdue University.

