Tags

Stream in winter

Stream in winter

When I took this picture I had originally thought to grayscale it and use it as a submission to Monochrome Madness, but when I uploaded it to the PC and saw it in a larger format, I started to change my mind. I went ahead and copied it into a monochrome image, but it seemed to lose some vitality. The same was true for two other pictures that I had taken that day. I’m not sure why, but I liked the color pictures better than the monochrome copies, and even better than what I saw through the viewfinder. I don’t recall having that happen before. It does remind me that there are always alternate versions of reality.

***

I woke up this morning around 3:30 for no discernible reason. Maybe it was because the room was brighter than normal. We received a couple of inches of snow in the night, and there was a lot of light reflecting from it. There was light from the apartment complex parking lot that lies beyond our back fence, and for a while there was a break in the clouds and the moon was shining brightly. Maybe it doesn’t happen to you, but I often have trouble staying asleep in a room that isn’t dark. A light being turned on in the hallway outside the bedroom will wake me up. If that kind of thing also happens to you, do you ever wonder why? Maybe it isn’t the rooster that wakes up the farmer. Maybe it’s the sunrise.

***

I only read around twenty or so blogs on a regular basis. I don’t believe that I could read more and still keep up with the books, emails, letters and other entertainment that I try to fit in my life. Retirement is busy work.

Having said that, I almost take it personally when someone whom I read seems to drop away from the blogosphere. I know that there are perfectly good reasons why a person stops posting to their blog. I’ve done it. But, I believe that I always have posted a reason when I know that I’ll be away for more than a few days. I’ll write something like, “There won’t be any new posts for a few months. I’ll be in the county jail for serial littering.” Or, I might say, “My typist is on maternity leave and can’t put my words on the Internet for me…or however that works…so check back in a few months.” You know, I always give a valid reason for not posting.

Do you ever wonder why people just stop posting? I do. I’m a curious creature. I’ve developed long distance friendships with a few people who write blogs that I read. So if they stop posting I usually know why and I don’t worry about them. But there are a few people who stop writing and I worry. It isn’t like I know them personally, but I feel as if I do because they write so well about themselves. I worry.

What do you wonder about?

