Tags

Bleak December day

Bleak December day

I’m posting this to show that we didn’t have a white Christmas this year, no matter how hard we wished.

***

Some of the people who read Classical Gasbag on a regular basis have already welcomed in the New Year. Some may already be nursing a hangover. A tip to them: Hair of the Dog. Most of the rest of you will not get around to reading this post until sometime in 2015. To the few who read it today, December 31st, I can only say, “Have you nothing better to do?” I’ve never found the transition from one year to the next to be particularly celebration worthy, though there was that party in 1969/70…but that’s a story for another day. If it is important to you, have a Happy New Year!

***

I was looking over my annual update from WordPress this morning, and decided to compare it to the previous two years. There were only a few sections that interested me, just as there only a couple of things that interest me in the daily statistics that are accumulated.

I started this blog early in 2012. I posted every day for a year, and included a new photo for each of those posts. Since I started the blog on January 30th there were only 337 posts that year. I was proud that I did that many since I had never been able to keep a diary or write in a journal for more than a few days before giving up. I am always interested in who reads the blog, but unless the person “Likes” a post, or comments on a post, I’m not sure who is lurking out there. Every day, however, I get a stat on where the views of the post are from. In 2012, most of the views were from th U.S., which makes sense, and the other top viewing countries were Ireland and Austria. Go figure. My most constant commentator was my friend Bob. Oh, and the most viewed picture was one of Marlon Gaskin.

In 2013 I continued the Post-A-Day goal until I finished a full year, and then my posting dropped off significantly. There were only 124 new posts that year. Most of the views came from the U.S. again, followed by Romania and the Netherlands. Bob was again the person who commented the most. The most viewed picture was one of Marlon.

2014 brought a return of more consistent posting by me. There were over 200. The views came from the U.S., followed by India and Jordan. Bob dropped to second in number of comments, following a young woman who blogs from India. The most viewed picture? It was my last of Marlon.

 ***

I’m not sure how often I’ll be posting in 2015. As I’ve told a few friends, I am way behind in my reading, so I plan on spending more time behind book covers than I do in front of a keyboard. Also, I feel like I’m running out of new pictures to take around here. I took one a few days ago that I had planned to use today, but when looking through the annual report for 2012 I found that I had used the object of the photo before, just in another season of the year. It was one of the top five viewed pictures that year. I have ideas for a few posts, but I’m not ready to punch them in yet.

***

Once again, Happy New Year! I’ll be around next year, and I hope you are as well.

