Another different barn

Another different barn

I came across this barn on a back road in the northwestern part of Indiana. It is near the abandoned school house that I pictured on Monday, so I’m not sure what county it is in. What can I say other than I love to take pictures of barns.

***

I would guess that a good number of people who read this blog are tired of me mentioning the short novel that I wrote in November. I’m not tired of it, but I do (sometimes) care about my gentle readers. So just a brief note to mention that I listened to a lot of music while I was sitting at the keyboard. Here are a few of the songs that I listened to while tip-tapping away. Oh, and the songs helped inspire the mood for the writing.

I was listening to a version of this song, Brandenburg Gate, when I started writing.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HTG8v4s0oxk

I was actually listening to a concert version of this song that was recorded in the Netherlands in the 1960’s. I prefer that version because of Brubeck’s piano solo. I think that he was really feeling the music that night. Not that this isn’t a fine version, but it seems a little more mechanical than the live version.

I have loved Art Pepper’s ballads since hearing this one many years ago. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xQNkLa4dYxU. I don’t think that I have ever heard a version of Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered that I didn’t like. If you want to hear a good vocal version, find Linda Ronstadt’s recording. I listened to this song while I was trying to write a section where the protagonist was in a mellow mood.

Finally, today, is The Ramsey Lewis Trio’s take on The Love Theme from Spartacus.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w__goINrj8c. This song is from the In Crowd album. As I recall, jazz critics at the time did not give the album high marks, probably because it seemed to cater to a more pop audience. I loved the album then, and I still do. I have owned three copies of this album over the years; a vinyl disc, a cassette tape, and now a CD. I was listening to this when I was writing a change in story pacing.

I hope that you enjoy the music as much as I do.

 

 

