Autumn bleakness

Autumn bleakness

I was reading Leanne Cole’s latest blog earlier today and in it she asked that the submissions for Monochrome Madness be sent in early. I had decided to use this image early this week, but I hadn’t drafted anything because I have been working on my NaNoWriMo novel. I finished composing for the day, so now I’m going ahead with this post.

I took this picture a couple of weeks ago. The sky was overcast; the structure’s white paint has faded and most of it has peeled off; the ground cover had lost almost all color. The picture was darned near monochrome before I grayscaled it. A few months ago I would have zoomed in on the structure, but I’ve come to realize that pulling back from the structure adds to the bleakness. It is amazing to me that I’m learning these things after so many years.

I hope you’re having a wonderful week.

