Tags

,

Wall art #2

Wall art #2

Here is another wall mural that I came across in the near downtown area of Lafayette. The artist has made an interesting comment that made me think about the transience of modes of communication in today’s society. No, I’m not making a statement on the relative worth of different forms of communication.

***

In a semi-related topic, on CBS Sunday Morning today, there was a segment on what happens to our on-line presence when we die. I will admit that I have given some thought to that topic in the past year or so. I’ve come to no conclusions as to what I would like to happen to all of the photographs I have on Flickr, or to all of the words and pictures I have on WordPress. There are still remnants, I’m sure, from my days on Facebook, and I still have an active, if seldom used, Twitter account. Do I really care what happens to all of that when I’m dead and gone (is dead and gone that a redundant phrase?).

I wonder if people will be reading blogs in ten years. Will there be enough people around who have the patience to read a thought that is more than 140 characters in length? The pessimist in me says. “no”, but the optimist in me says “of course”. I’m pretty sure that people will still look at murals.

***

 A quote about communication

“The single biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place.”
– George Bernard Shaw

