Tags

, ,

Wall art #1

Wall art #1

This is one of a collection of paintings that I found near the center of Lafayette. I think these pieces must be fairly new because there are so many that I can’t believe I missed seeing them before. This isn’t my favorite, but I do like it. I do have one question, does anyone have an idea why the head of a blue-faced woman would be painted on the side f a building? I suppose that question shows how much I don’t understand about art and artists.

***

I don’t pay attention to many commercials on television. Most of them are not worth my time, but I occasionally watch them. For instance, this morning I was paying attention to a local politician’s campaign commercial, only because I favor this particular person. I continued to watch as the next ad featured a woman being led around a city by her animated bladder. It was a drug company’s effort to sell a drug that controlled “urges” to urinate. At least I think that is what it is supposed to do. I stopped paying attention after a couple of sentences.

On the other end of the spectrum are the commercials for Geico Insurance. Don’t get me wrong, insurance companies are not my favorite businesses. This company, however, has clever commercials. This one is my newest favorite. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AWv-dIUP9oc.

***

 As I sat here at the keyboard, wondering what to say next, I started paying attention to the music that was playing. Why it was a cover of an early Bob Dylan tune, Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TFrFHKgWacA. Susan Tedeschi proves that some songs don’t get old. Of course I am prejudiced, being a fan of both early Dylan songs and Susan Tedeschi. When I first listened to one of her albums I thought of Bonnie Raitt. There are similarities beyond being women. I recommend her (either her) music to you. Those are my unpaid endorsements for today.

