Tags

Head in search of a body

Head in search of a body

I’m having a hard time getting enthused for Halloween this year. I decided that I should start decorating in hopes that it would help me get in the mood. It hasn’t really helped, but I still have hopes. This is a picture of one of my favorite decorations, a head in a bag. The bag moves and a recording yells things like, “MY HEAD! MY HEAD!” Unfortunately the light/movement detector has stopped working and you have to touch the bag in order for it to work. It loses much of its shock value in this condition. Yes, I lean towards the horror movie end of the Halloween spectrum even though I haven’t enjoyed a horror movie since the days of Bela Lugosi, Boris Karloff, Lon Chaney Jr. and Claude Rains.

I took this photo with my smart phone and used the built-in software for the framing and to make it a black and white image. Then I moved the image to our laptop where I used PaintShop Pro to colorize the photo. Unfortunately, or perhaps fortunately, in the colorization process I lost the blood-red color that stains the bag. Without the red, I still think this is a pretty creepy image.

I know that Halloween isn’t celebrated worldwide. It’s more of Western Civilization (using the term loosely) tradition. I like it because I enjoy giving candy to all of the little costumed children who come to the door seeking a treat. I am looking forward to that part of celebration. Did that make me sound creepy? I swear that I didn’t mean it that way.

By the way, this photo is my submission to Monochrome Madness this week. I recommend Leanne’s website if you enjoy looking at top-notch photography. She also supplies links to the websites of all of the people who submit photos to Monochrome Madness.

Have a great week.

