Tags

Wildcat Creek...I think

Wildcat Creek…I think

I took this picture a few weeks ago. I got around to looking at it today, and with some careful cropping, decided to use it. It isn’t anything special, but I like it.

***

In olden days a glimpse of stocking
Was looked on as something shocking,
But now, God knows,
Anything Goes.

Good authors too who once knew better words,
Now only use four letter words
Writing prose, Anything Goes.

The world has gone mad today
And good’s bad today,
And black’s white today,
And day’s night today,
When most guys today
That women prize today
Are just silly gigolos
And though I’m not a great romancer
I know that I’m bound to answer
When you propose,
Anything goes

Cole Porter

I was listening to a CD of Rosemary Clooney singing this the other day. It occurred to me, old fogey that I am, that Mr. Porter was making the same points about change in 1934 that I might make today, Of course, I’m not sure if all of the above words are original to the song. A quick search of the Internet garners a variety of lyrics. But these words match my feelings, so I’m using them.

I could probably do a whole diatribe about the way the country is going to the dogs. But if I look at the this song that has been around for decades, the dogs have been gnawing on this bone for a long time. It isn’t likely that I would find any new meat on it. Why bother.

