Looking for crumbs on the restaurant patio

Looking for crumbs on the restaurant patio

This is one of many birds who were looking for crumbs on the restaurant’s patio. The others kept hiding from my phone camera by hopping behind table legs and chair legs. This one stayed in one place long enough for me to get a shot.

***

I realized a while back that in at least one way I’m becoming more like my father was the last few years of his life. He spent more time talking about what happened in the past than he had ever done when I was younger. Or, perhaps I was listening better those last few years, but I think not. I’ve noticed that many older people have fewer new things to say, and more memories to relate. It’s good that they want to tell us their memories, it’s a link to the past. But it is also sad that they feel the past is a more interesting than their present.

I believe that if I met you in person I would talk more about the present than about things that happened in the past. But I admit that many of my posts deal with memories rather than what is happening today. I do try to mix it up. Maybe I sound older in the blog than I do in person.

What I’m working my way around to saying is that there is a tipping point in the life of many people where they dwell more in the past than in the present. I haven’t reached the tipping point yet, but I know that I’m slowly approaching it.

I do believe that I’ve slowed the approach, in part, because I started blogging. Also I’ve started reading a variety of other blogs. I occasionally comment on their posts. I’ve even traded emails with a few bloggers. These activities help keep me from daydreaming about the past. That’s probably what I would be doing if I just sat around watching TV or listening to musical oldies all day.

So thanks, blogosphere, you’re helping me feel young.

