Tags

Eliza Parrish

Eliza Parrish

When we finished our lunch break, and got back on the graveyard trail, we headed for Mounds Cemetery. Mary wasn’t sure where it was located, and my small map was even less useful in locating the place. However, I  had also printed a list of graveyards in Warren County, and that spreadsheet had map coordinates, so I entered the Mounds Cemetery coordinates into my smart phones GPS, and it worked a solution for us.

Unfortunately, my phone didn’t know that the directions it gave us led to a road that was closed for construction. Well, there is more than one way to skin a cat, so we proceeded on to the next crossroad, made a turn, and let the GPS find a new way to the graveyard. A few minutes later we realized that the GPS was taking us in a circle back to the closed road. Mounds Cemetery would have to wait for another day.

Mary decided that we needed to start homeward, she had a grandchild’s ball game to attend, so we headed back to more familiar territory. Mary stopped at another graveyard, and I confess that I don’t remember which it was. We only did a drive-through. Mary stopped long enough to take a picture of a building on the grounds. I didn’t shoot it.

We made one more stop, the Montmorenci Cemetery in Tippecanoe County, where the above picture was taken. Mary told me about her interesting history with this graveyard, but I’ve been sworn to secrecy, so I won’t share it with you. I will state emphatically that it doesn’t include necrophilia.

Mary was intrigued, wondering about the meaning of the symbol at the top of this stone. It was a fairly common motif. I told her that I thought it was a better symbol than one where the finger was pointing downward. What I found more interesting was that on so many stones they included how many years, months, and days that the person had lived. Perhaps that is a shorthand way of saying that each day was important? That’s just a theory on my part.

From Montmorenci we headed home. And thus ends our marvelous adventure. I had a great day, spent with a fine friend. I hope we do it again. There are still around thirty-five more graveyards in Warren County.

I’ve uploaded most of the pictures that I took last Friday into my Flickr account. You can find them here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/hoosiertourist/sets/72157644799262147/

I must admit that I haven’t used Flickr in a long time, so I’m not sure that you’ll be able to actually see the pictures. I know that I still need to title each of the pictures, and I’ll be doing that in my spare time. Hahahaha. There are also two black and white photos in that album from earlier expeditions on my own. I have plenty more graveyard pictures that I’ve taken over the years that I’ll be adding to that Flickr album.

