Tags

Williamsport Falls

Williamsport Falls

After visiting four graveyards, Mary and I were ready for a break, so we drove to Attica to have lunch at the Hotel Attica. The hotel was built in 1853, and is located on Perry Street, which is the main drag of the downtown area. The store across the street advertises that is sells live bait and tackle. We observed one or two anglers stop by to take advantage of that offer.

Before we returned to the graveyards we ventured to Williamsport to see the tallest free-falling waterfall in Indiana. Williamsport Falls is ninety feet in height. You may not think that is very tall, and you may be right, but it is a pretty little waterfall.

After seeing the falls and taking pictures, we resumed our graveyard quest. That will be the topic of tomorrow’s post.

***

I would like to know how I got on a mailing list that was sold to companies that are attempting to sell me hearing aids. Do I look like I’m deaf? Let me rephrase that. Do I appear to be hard of hearing? Huh?

My first guess is that they got my info from AARP. Perhaps the Social Security Administration sells mailing lists. At any event, I don’t like it. Neither do I like the implication that a person my age is automatically hard of hearing, let alone susceptible to blandishments in the mail.

If it gets to a point where I can’t hear ordinary things, I’ll seek out a local audiologist. But, since most of my friends are also getting older and probably listened to a lot more loud rock and roll than I did, they will compensate for their loss of hearing by speaking louder. It is a win-win situation.

***

If you live in the U.S. you may have noticed how in so many medical drug advertisements on TV, the people are filmed moving in slow motion. There are some exceptions, but in most cases nothing happens at normal speed. I don’t understand why they film it that way. If you have any insight into this, please share it with me.

