Tags

,

On the edge of a park on the west side of Lafayette

On the edge of a park on the west side of Lafayette

I knew when I took this picture yesterday that I would be grayscaling it. I also like the color version, and may use it at a later time.

***

Today’s post will be very brief. I have nothing to add to all of the memories being broadcast and printed about the D-Day landings. I wasn’t born when it happened, and my dad was serving in the Pacific theater, so he had no stories. From what I have been watching on television, the broadcasters have been doing a laudable job.

I have never felt that D-Day was more worthy of celebration, if that is the proper word, than any other World War II battle. Until today, that is. Maybe it is because I’m getting older, or maybe it is because there are so few survivors of the landings who are still alive. I realized that in my lifetime I’ve read about the deaths of the last Civil War, Spanish-American War, and World War I veterans. I may live long enough to read, or be informed, about the death of the last veteran of World War II. Mortality seems to be closing in.

Still, what I’ve been seeing today caused me to pull out Stephen Ambrose’s book D-Day and decide to read it. But, since it isn’t raining today, and it is beautiful outside, I’ll be doing yard work. Perhaps, instead, I’ll read the chapter on Normandy in the book Moment of Battle: The Twenty Clashes that Changed the World by James Lacey and Williamson Murray. That twenty-some page chapter seems more doable than a five hundred-plus page book. That’s how I’m commemorating D-Day.

