Tags

West of Linden

West of Linden

This is an Archer Daniels Midland plant just west of Linden. Or, at least it is most of the plant. I couldn’t get all of it in the frame from where I located.

***

Believe me when I tell you that I hadn’t planned on writing this post, at least not in this fashion. Two events and a coincidence birthed this post. Let me start with the two events.

Saturday morning, shortly after Cindy and came home from Macey’s graduation, I received an email from someone I know only from her writing and her emails. We have evidently become close enough that she told me she had broken up with her boyfriend. I was so sorry to hear that because I like this person very much.

The second event happened Saturday evening around 7:30 p.m. Cindy and I had started watching one of the 501 movies on our list when the power went out. Cindy asked me if I had paid the bill, and I assured her that I had. I checked with power company and found out that it was a neighborhood problem. The recorded message said the power should be restored around 10:30. Rather than sit in the dark and have an adult conversation, Cindy decided to lay down on the sofa and close her eyes. Rather than sit there and wait for the snoring to begin, I went upstairs and pulled out my MP3 player.

This is where the coincidence comes in. I’ve mentioned in past posts that I always have my MP3 player on a random shuffle, because I often like variety in my listening. Bur also, you occasionally get a serendipitous string of songs. That happened while I was sitting in the dark, thinking about the day, and listening to music. I had been listening for an hour or more when the first of three consecutive songs started playing. It was June Monheit singing a song from the movie Royal Wedding titled Too Late Nowhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RsnORdVaMng Well, of course, it made me think about the young woman who had sent me the email.

Next came Johnny Mathis singing the Rogers and Hammerstein song Love Look Away from Flower Drum Song.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tQo13eq1XzM I had first heard that song back in the 1960’s when my dad bought the Johnny Mathis album.

And then, finally, came The Eagles singing Best of My Love.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tQo13eq1XzM That one really brought me down. Here I have an acquaintance whom I like, going through a bad time, and this song specifically reminded me of a similar situation that happened to me back in the 1970’s (before Cindy came into my life). That did it. I turned off the MP3 player, removed the headphones, and tried to fall asleep.

Finally around 11 p.m., with the power still off, I was able to nod off. I woke up once at 12:30 a.m. and found the power back on, so I got out of bed and went around the house turning off all of the lights and appliances that were turned on. Cindy was sleeping soundly on the family room couch. I just wish I had taken a picture of her. It would have been more fun posting that than the ADM shot.

