Tags

Not quite derelict

Not quite derelict

I believe I was west of Linden when I took this picture. I know that I had to zoom at maximum to get this shot. I tried taking it from a slightly different angle, but I kept getting the barbed wire fence too high in the frame. This one worked out pretty well.

***

A term that I like, though I’m not quite sure I understand the concept completely: Jingle bobs. Not to be confused with the word jinglebob, which is a steer’s ear that has been slashed to mark the steer. I understand that. No, jingle bobs are added to a cowboy’s spur, or spurs as an adornment and to make a jingling sound. And here I thought that spurs (alone) jingle jangle jingled as the cowboy went merrily along. Onomatopoeia anyone? It’s too bad that the term is so specific to a culture for so few people. But, if it were an everyday term, I would probably get tired of hearing it. As it is, I only hear it in cowboy songs.

***

 My dad used the expression “Ye gods and little fish cakes.” I have never heard anyone else use the expression, and I wasn’t quite sure I understood the “little fish cakes” section. Google wasn’t overly helpful. They only had one citation for it in a copy of Trucking Business, Volume 25 from July of 1920. It was used in an article titled Do Horses Laugh? Listen! I did note that there were citations for the simpler “Ye gods and little fishes.” That seems to have originated in the United States in the 1800’s, but I could find no explanation for the entire term. As a fallback, I checked real books in my library (Heavens To Betsy & Other Curious Saying by Charles Earle Funk, and Listening To America by Stuart Berg Flexner) but found no mention of the term. So, I still don’t know where my dad got the expression. But I like it. Perhaps I’ll start using it.

***

Finally, Curmudgeonly Norm wants to know when “exact same” became part of Standard American English. Is it really so difficult to add two syllables and say “exactly the same?”

