Tags

Movie 1

Movie 1

Cindy and I started our togetherness project last night. We watched the first movie chosen from the book 501 Must-See Movies. We didn’t start at then front of the book, or even from the beginning of a section of the book. I picked up three of the movies at random from the library, and let Cindy choose the one we would watch. She chose wisely.

I won’t be going over the plot. I won’t be offering spoilers. You should watch and find out for yourself if you like it. I’m not important enough to tell you those things. I will tell you that the 12 men were on a jury.

I had seen the movie on television decades ago, and I had liked it, but for some reason I hadn’t watched it again. For me, it was almost like seeing it for the first time. It was the first time for Cindy. Unlike most of her television and movie watching at home, Cindy did not share the time with her iPad. She really did like it!

The movie was released in 1957,  and it starred Henry Fonda. Some people might think that it is too emotionally melodramatic, and I will admit that perhaps my tastes have become oooh so sophisticated over the years, but the story still holds up. The message, or messages, are still important ones.

There were a few things that jumped out at us from the early scenes. Cindy’s first question was, “Why are they all men?” I guess in the 1950’s men were the only people smart enough to be on a jury. The first thing I noticed was that in the jury deliberation room people started lighting up cigarettes…and nobody complained! How times have changed.

Among the cast was Lee J. Cobb, E.G. Marshall, Jack Klugman, Jack Warden, Martin Balsam, and other actors who won’t be recognized by people younger than 30. I grew up watching these men on television and in the movies, so it was a little like old home week for me.

Cindy and I have had a good start to our movie watching.

