Tags

, ,

Country home

Country home

I would love to live in a house like this. Except that it would probably cost a fortune to maintain. I’m not a DIY kind of guy, so everything needs to be done by others. Plus, Cindy insists on city water, and this place is out in the country. It’s just a place to (day)dream about.

***

It has been a little more than nine years since I stopped working for the State. I had worked as a bureaucrat for twenty-nine years when it finally ended. For most of that time I liked my work. It was only near the end, when I had moved high enough that the politics and the petty jealousies (I had a supervisor tell me that she hated it when peers from other agencies said they liked working with me) destroyed most of the happiness. I came to hate going to work. Anyway, I realized the other day that memories of those bad days have been coming back more often. I think it’s because it is close to the anniversary of my leaving. It took me a few months to decompress from those end days.

I find that when those memories come, I immediately try to change my train of thought. I don’t want to spend time remembering bad things. Yes, I’m consciously trying to suppress memories. Is that wrong? I think it is best for me.

***

I’ve become more curmudgeonly about language since I started blogging. I must be trying to impress the people who read the posts. Ego, ego, ego.

The other day I saw Secretary of Education, Arne Duncan, being interviewed on television. I don’t remember what the question was, nor do I remember what his answer was, but I do remember that he ended his sentence with a preposition. I’m sure I do that often, though I am aware of trying to not do so when writing. Still, I thought, “Secretary of Education? Ending a sentence with a preposition? Where did he go to school.?”

I know, and I’m happy that English is not a dead language, and so rules change and new words are added to the vocabulary. Perhaps I’ve become too stuffy. I should probably get un-stuffed (that sounds strangely kinky to my inner ear).

***

Cindy and I will be taking a road trip later this year. I’m slowly putting together a flash drive full of music for the trip. It’s a 16 GB flash drive, so if I fill it we should be able to get there and back without hearing the same song twice. Well almost, so far I’ve added two different versions of Abilene and may add a third. I love that song.

So endeth today’s post.

