Tags

More cattle

More cattle

I took this picture a few weeks ago. If I went back today, there would be leaves on the trees. Spring is moving along.

***

You may have guessed from the title of this post, that I’ll be relating to you a conversation I had with my mother on the telephone. It started simply enough, she was telling me how pretty everything was in Santa Claus. She told me that my sister’s irises and peonies were in bloom. I started to say that my irises didn’t even had buds yet, but she cut me off before I could get two words out of my mouth. It’s as if she has a set statement that she wants to get out, no matter what the other person may want to contribute to the conversation. In truth, I think she doesn’t hear the other person talking.

She went on to say that if dad were still alive, it would be their 72 wedding anniversary. I have never been good remembering anniversary dates. I used to keep them in a calendar, but I stopped doing that somewhere along the way. Perhaps I should start again.

Anyway, back to our phone conversation. Mom asked me if I was taking Cindy out for dinner on Mother’s Day. I said, “No. Trina invited her out.”

Mom said, “What are you going to do?”

“I’m going, too.”

You’re taking Cindy out to eat?”

“No, we’re going out to Trina’s.”

“Well, maybe Trina will invite her out.”

“Yeah, maybe she will.”

She moved on to, “You’re visiting Lee and Michelle this summer?”

“Yeah. we plan on driving out.”

“You would never get me in an airplane.”

“We’re driving this time, mom.”

“Well, I hope the plane doesn’t have any problems.”

“Flying is safe, mom.”

And then back to, “Where are you taking Cindy on Sunday?”

Now I could have shouted the answer…again, but I have a gravelly voice today, so I decided to just say, “I haven’t decided yet. I’ll call you on Sunday, mom.”

“OK. I’ll talk to you later. Bye-bye.”

“Bye mom.”

