Tags

,

Yes, I did!

Yes, I did!

I performed my civic duty this morning. It is primary election day in Indiana. As a Democrat in Tippecanoe County, there aren’t many choices to be made, so instead I pulled a Republican ballot. There are pros and cons to doing so.

Among the pros are the benefits of actually being able to make a decision. There are two types of Republican politicians in Tippecanoe County. You have your basic Republican who feels we should turn everything over to business people; and then you have the Republican who is really something else but who knows the can’t get elected unless they run as a Republican. I call that latter group “the lesser of two evils.” So by voting as a Republican I have to decide whether to vote for the best candidate, or for the one who will throw the biggest monkey wrench into the Republican machinery during the general election. It’s a tough decision.

There is one major drawback to crossing party lines in a primary besides having to grit your teeth and declare for them. The con is the fact that you get put on the mailing lists of all of these people, most of whom you won’t vote for in the general election. Don’t get me wrong, I seldom vote a straight ticket. In fact I can’t recall doing so since having mock elections in high school. It’s just that there is so much more paper to recycle this way.

***

My brainstorm for today: Raise the restaurant server minimum wage to the same level as other workers. In case you didn’t know, people who receive tips in the U.S. are not covered by the (paltry) $7.25 hourly federal minimum wage. Instead, their federal minimum wage is $2.13 per hour. They have to depend on the largess of the customers in order to make do.

I once worked with a man who refused to tip wait staff. His theory was that if everyone stopped tipping, employers would have to pay their employees more money. Yes, he was a student at Purdue, home of astronauts and magical thinkers. He was also cheap.

Back to my bright idea. Pay people who depend on tips the same as other people, and if they are given any tips they should, for tax reasons, consider them a bonus. Only, unlike stock traders, investment bankers and such, they receive their bonuses throughout the year rather than just once a year.

Would that put restaurants out of business? I don’t know. Perhaps an economics professor can get a grant to set up a restaurant and run a study. Such practical application should be worth the effort, rather than just depending on theory. It’s too bad that no economics professors read my blog. In honesty, this seemed like a better idea when I came up with it right after I woke up this morning, and hadn’t poured my first cup of coffee.

Have a wonderful day.

 

