Tags

, ,

And, it is spring

 And, it is spring

This is my annual first flower bloom of spring picture. I’m pretty sure that if you look back around a year ago, I posted a very similar picture. I am a creature of habit. I know that other parts of the country have had flowers blooming for a while now, but these are the first in our yard. Daffodils will be next. They already have buds on them.

***

Even as I start this post I’m having trouble deciding on what I want to say. I have two competing ideas, well two and a half ideas, rattling around in my brain. The bad news for you, the reader, is that both (or both and a half) ideas deal with feelings…somewhat. If you’ve read my earlier posts that deal with feelings, you are probably aware that I prefer to think, rather than to feel. I hope you are ready for confusion.

***

OK, I’ve decided…kind of. Think of the word “despond.” That is what I convinced myself this morning that I have been feeling for the past week or so. My symptoms have been lassitude, a lack of ideas for the blog, and an affinity for alliteration. Yes, I just through that last symptom in for the fun of it, and because I could.

I gave despond some thought while showering this morning. How often do you hear despond without it being connected to Bunyan’s Slough of? Not often enough. Not all despond is caused by a lack of faith. I’m sorry, would you prefer I used the word despondency rather than despond? Well, don’t worry about it, I’m moving the conversation to another topic, because I decided while towelling off that I was just feeling sorry for myself.

So, at that point my mind skipped to:

***

Unless you travel by yourself, a road trip is a series of compromises. Do you stick to the Interstate, or do you shunpike? Do you listen to the radio, or to a book on CD, or to a music CD, or do you sit in silence? Do you eat fast food, or do you stop at full service restaurants? Do you drive a car or an RV? Do you stay in motels or with friends or family? Cindy knows what I prefer, and I know what she likes. So we compromise because we don’t always on agree on these things. It’s good to have someone in your life with whom you can reach compromises.

I’m afraid this post became even more scattered as I sat here at the keyboard. I hope you could follow it.

